Support Worker

Support Worker

People Plus Independent Living Services
St. Neots PE19
Part-time
 
Support Worker

St. Neots, PE19

£14.50 per hour

 

About Me

I am an enthusiastic and determined 19-year-old with spinal muscular atrophy, which is a muscle-wasting condition. This means all my muscles have minimal strength. I have little movement in my legs and struggle to move my arms. As a result, I can be pretty fragile. I’m also a full-time powerchair user. I currently live with my family in St.Neots (PE19)

Family, friends and my girlfriend are very important to me. I am often out socialising and love going on day trips. Going to the cinema to watch newly released films or travelling to Cambridge to eat in my favourite restaurants. I love trying different foods from across the world. I am also a very relaxed person and find comfort in chill days at home with my partner. Listing to all different types of music and Films

 

Hours and rate of pay

All Year

Mon: 8:30 – 5pm

Tues: 9:00 – 3:00pm

Weds: 9:00 – 3:00pm

Thurs 9:00 – 3:00pm

Fri : 8:30 – 5pm

Total 34 hours (overtime available up to 40 hours which is preferred, but not mandatory)

Up to £14.50 per hour depending on experience plus paid annual leave

An enhanced DBS check will be required, or willingness to obtain one before commencing support.

 

What You Would Be Doing

Due to my limited mobility, I need someone with me in most situations. I have start university and will need someone to help me with day-to-day tasks.

At this point in my life I would love to become more independent. Your support would allow me to do this. I need help with personal care, getting dressed and most physical tasks. These tasks could include cutting up food, helping me access my bag, going to toilet or to help me with opening doors. A typical day would involve getting me out of bed, helping me into the Bus. Ensuring I am as independent as I can be during the day, but also to Carry out physio if needed. This could be leg stretches or lung physio. Training on this would be given by the Addenbrooke’s hospital and myself. I would need to be transferred with a hoist during personal care or any other activities where I need to be out of my wheelchair. (training provided)

When socialising, I need someone there when I need personal care and to ensure I’m safe when travelling around.

 

The Person I Would Like

You should have a genuine interest in providing high-quality care and should be able to work flexibly with me if needed.

I’m not expecting you to know everything, but you should be motivated to learn about my needs. I want someone who can join in conversations and tasks ,but also be discreet when it’s needed with friends. In return, you will be able to keep up with the latest training in equipment and physio techniques. Lastly, I would like someone I can build a trustworthy connection. Someone who is honest, young at heart, with a wicked sense of humour.

If your open to 12 hour shifts later, this is currently trying to be arranged.

Industry: Health & Social Care
Job Type: Part Time
Job Location: Saint Neots

Apply for this position

Allowed Type(s): .pdf, .doc, .docx
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.